jump to searchjump to navigationjump to content

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board advises the Foundation Council and the Board of Directors in scientific and technical matters and autonomously evaluates the scientific and professional results. In addition, the SAB promotes co-operation schemes with adequate research institutes in Germany and abroad.

The members of the Scientific Advisory Board are appointed by the Foundation Board for four years in coordination with the institute’s management. One-time reappointments in direct succession are possible.

The current members of the Scientific Advisory Board are:


Prof. Dr. Norbert Sewald
University of Bielefeld, Faculty of Chemistry


Prof. Dr. Andrea Polle
University of Göttingen, Department Forest Botany and Tree Physiology

Further Members

  • Prof. Dr. Axel Brakhage
    Leibniz Institute for Natural Product Research and Infection Biology, Jena

  • Prof. Dr. Katayoon Dehesh
    UC Riverside, Institute for Integrative Genome Biology

  • Prof. Dr. Bernhard Hauer
    Institute of Technical Biochemistry, University of Stuttgart

  • Prof. Dr. Thisbe Lindhorst
    University of Kiel, Institute of Organic Chemistry

  • Prof. Dr. Michael Metzlaff
    Bayer AG, Leverkusen

  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Schmülling
    Freie Universität Berlin, Institute for Biology

  • Prof. Dr. Michael Spiteller
    University Dortmund, Institute for Environmental Research

  • Prof. Dr. Dorothea Tholl
    Virginia Tech. Dep. of Biological Sciences, Blacksburg

  • Prof. Dr. Nicolaus von Wirén
    Leibniz Institute for Plant Genetics and Crop Plant Research (IPK), Gatersleben

    This page was last modified on 28.09.2016.

    IPB Mainnav Search